Flightless Bird

Small
Vulnerable heart
A bird learning to fly
Scared, not sure how to be
Questions in her heart, in her head
Will I fall? And, will I get hurt?
Will the pain ever go away?
The more questions, the more she hesitates
Stops herself to fly
I think I’ll just be a flightless bird
Like an orstrich and hide my head for the rest of my life
Then the wind says,
Trust me, I’ll help you
Just open your wings
Let all your questions go
Let you listen to you alone
I’ll give you a boost, that’s all you need
Ok, I’ll give it a try, she says
And, she flew
Letting go of everything that has stopped her to fly before
Letting herself be carried by the wind
Trusting herself to live

Leave a Reply

